UN Security Council


UN Security Council

The United Nations Security Council is not only one of the six main organs of the United Nations, but also unquestionably the most powerful body within the international community. It addresses all the possible issues that can represent a threat to international peace, as the Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security. Its powers include the recommendation of principles for a peace agreement, issuing ceasefire directives, the establishment of peacekeeping operations and political missions, and instituting sanction regimes. Being the only UN body with the authority to issue binding resolutions to Member States, the UNSC is composed by fifteen Member States, that are divided in five Permanent Members (United States of America, Russian Federation, China’s People Republic, France, and United Kingdom) and ten Non-Permanent ones with two-year term. It is important to know that the Permanent Five (P5) has veto power, so it is required them not to vote against the resolution if you want to pass it. Let the Games begin!

A) New Battlegrounds: The future of Cyber Security and Cyber Warfare

B) Preserving Peace in the Arctic


– United States of America

– Russian Federation

– China

– France

– United Kingdom

– Japan

– Bolivia

– Ethiopia

– Kazakhstan

– Sweden

– Italy

– Egypt

– Senegal

– Uruguay

– Ukraine