Human Rights Council


Human Rights Council

The Human Rights Council is a United Nations body that was created in 2006 by the General Assembly through Resolution 60/251, replacing the former Commission on Human Rights, which was impractical because of the national foreign policies. This new council is composed by 47 UN Member States elected by the UN General Assembly that prove to be respectful of human rights. It is one of the key diplomatic forums working towards the universalization of human rights. The Human Rights Council’s powers include the ability to utilize the UN Special Procedures to monitor and advise on specific areas of Human Rights abuse and issue reports on thematic areas of concern. It is also possible to use the Universal Periodic Review to evaluate the circumstances of the respect of human rights in all Member States, individuals and organizations. Although the resolutions are not mandatory, but the HRC looks to pass consensus resolutions, with no votes against. It is amazing to confront not only ideas, but cultures towards human rights!

A) Right to sexual determination and protection from sexual assault

B) Responses to the human rights crisis in Venezuela

List of available countries for the Human Rights Council

  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Bangladesh
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
  • Botswana
  • Burundi
  • China
  • Congo
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Ethiopia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Irak
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Mongolia
  • Netherlands
  • Nigeria
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Philippines
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Republic of Korea
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Slovenia
  • Switzerland
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • United States of America
  • Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

More information: