European Parliament

The European Parliament replaces the former Common Assembly of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC). The first meeting was held on the 19th of March 1958 and currently 751 MEP´s, which are elected each five years represent the European population in the legislation-making process. The current president is the German Martin Schulz and it is based in both Brussels and Luxemburg. During SEIMUN, delegates, instead of simulating the role of ambassadors of their country will simulate real persons, distributed amongst parties, following the same proportion than the real Parliament. Together with the Council of the European Union they will, following the co-decision (bicameral EU legislator body) process, amend the proposition by the Commission (will be written by the Secretariat) and then pass it to the Council of the European Union. In the meantime, they will work on a different topic, which will be announced soon.

A) Directive: Single Digital Market

B) The Brexit Dilemma: Viability of the access to a single market without allowing free movement of people


– Group of the European People´s Party

– Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats

– Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe Group

– European Conservatives and Reformists

– European United Left – Nordic Green Party

– The Greens – European Free Alliance

– Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy

– Europe of Nations and Freedom

– Non-Inscrits

More information: