International Court of Justice (ICJ)


Author: Jeroen Bouman


License: Public domain

International Court of Justice (ICJ)

The International Court of Justice (ICJ), informally referred as the World Court, was established in 1945 by the UN Charter and is the primary judicial branch of the United Nations. Based in the Peace Palace in Hague, it replaced the Permanent Court of International Justice. The Court´s 15 judges are elected for nine year terms by the United Nations General Assembly and the United Nations Security Council. Their work covers a wide range of judicial activity. The court settles legal disputes submitted t it by states and provides advisory opinions on legal questions submitted to it by duly authorized international branches, agencies and the UN General Assembly. Their decisions however can become mandatory and be enforced by the Security Council. Both the 193 UN members, as well as also non-UN members are considered parties (famous case of Palestine) are subject to the Court´s statute. Although no previous MUN experience is required to apply to this committee, delegates should be aware of its complexity. To apply, delegates should have at least coursed 120 credits in legal studies and a strong command of the English language. It is a relativelly small committee and the workload will be especially demanding.

Legality of the use of force (Yugoslavia v. USA) – 1999